Arizona Legislation

CUA’s membership in Arizona is growing. For that reason, we decided to begin providing members with information about legislation related to our mission that may be of interest to our members in Arizona. For full information about legislation in Arizona, please follow these links:
Arizona State Legislature Web site

List of your state representatives

These are some bills being considered in this session that might be of interest to consumers. We provide this for information purposes only. CUA does not lobby in the state of Arizona and has no position on these bills.

For all Arizona bill status information, click here then type in the bill number

To find a committee, click here then select the committee you are looking for

HB2004 ASRS; WAITING PERIOD; REPEAL
Statute requiring any state employee initially hired on or after July 20, 2011 to wait until the 27th week of employment to become a member of the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS) or the ASRS Long-Term Disability Program is repealed.
Next Step: Passed Senate Rules; March 5, 2018

HB2154 PERSONAL INFORMATION; DATA SECURITY BREACHES
Numerous changes to statutes relating to data security breaches. Adds a new article to Title 18 (Information Technology) regulating data security breaches, and transfers several sections of current statute to the new article. If a person that conducts business in Arizona and that owns, maintains or licenses unencrypted or unredacted computerized data that includes personal information determines that there has been a "security system breach" (defined), the person is required to notify the Attorney General in writing within 30 days. In addition to the previous requirement for notification of the individuals affected by a breach, the person is required to notify all consumer reporting agencies if the breach requires notification of more than 1,000 Arizona residents. Establishes a list of information that must be included in the notification to individuals affected by a breach.

Next Step: Passed SenateTransportation and Technology; March 21, 2018

HB2168 MOBILE HOMES; RECREATIONAL VEHICLES; FUND
Increases the maximum amount of compensation an eligible tenant may receive from the Mobile Home Relocation Fund to $7,500 for a single-section mobile home, from $5,000, and to $12,500 for a multisection mobile home, from $10,000.

Next Step: Sent to Governor to sign into law; March 22, 2018

HB2226 STUDENT LOAN SERVICERS; LICENSURE
Adds a chapter to Title 6 (Banks & Financial Institutions) requiring a person acting as a "student loan servicer" (defined) to obtain a license from the Superintendent of Financial Institutions. Some exceptions. Establishes license application requirements and fees. Student loan servicer licenses expire on September 30 of each odd-numbered year and may be biannually renewed. Establishes requirements and prohibited practices for licensees as well as penalties for violations. Establishes a student loan ombudsman in the Department of Financial Institutions to attempt to resolve complaints from student loan borrowers and establish a student loan borrower education course by October 1, 2019. Due to a potential increase in state revenue, this legislation requires the affirmative vote of at least 2/3 of the members of each house of the Legislature for passage, and becomes effective on signature of the Governor.
Next Step: House Military, Veterans, and Regulatory Affairs, TBA

S1163 CREDIT SECURITY FREEZES; FEES; PROHIBITION
Consumer reporting agencies are prohibited from charging a fee for a credit report security freeze, removal of a freeze or temporary lift of a freeze, or for re-issuance of a unique personal identification number of password. Previously, consumer reporting agencies were permitted to charge a $5 fee for each of these services.

Next Step: Passed House Rules; March 6, 2018

S1381SERVICE CONTRACTS
Various changes to statute relating to service contracts, including modifying the definition of "service contract." Except for the applicable registration requirements, service companies and related service contract sellers, administrators and other persons that market, sell or offer to sell service contracts are exempt from the licensing requirements of Title 20 (Insurance). Warranties and service contracts are not insurance and are not required to comply with state insurance laws unless expressly applied in statute. Statute requiring the Department of Insurance to approve a service contract programs and establishing requirements for approval is repealed and replaced.

Next Step: Passed House Rules; March 20, 2018